Artist Statement

My work is the result of a creative process through which I explore, resolve and transmute my inner world into beauty, materiality and meaning.

It is through my art practice that I envision and create the world around me.

It is about setting meaningful intentions for the future through the resolution of past trauma and perceived limitations by recovering aspects of myself in order to understand how they might relate to who I am in the present moment.

I often draw on memories and inner reflection to inspire a new understanding of what makes my identity my own, and how this concept changes over time. The materials and processes that I use often attempt to reflect metaphorical themes and allow the conceptual significance of my work to emerge, often though multidisciplinary media such as textiles, collage and found objects along with words and images.

I love to engage with creative practices such as journaling, poetry and tarot to reflect my thoughts, feelings and ideas into tangible representations through my work and life. I believe that the power of creative expression lies in its ability to forge profound relationships between ourselves and others, and offers us a glimpse of the depth of our unique experiences.

At its core, my art is a way to explore myself; my own mind, emotions and spirit and what I make transmutes what I discover into the material realm.

It is through my work that I strive to push the boundaries of my own self concept in order to discover my own challenges, strategies and gifts so that I might share them with the world around me, and yearn to inspire others to do the same.

I seek to create connections that can foster deeper, more meaningful communication among people and our environments so that we might interact and exist together in a harmonious way. When we can better understand, express and share our perspectives, we are invited into a better understanding of ourselves as a whole.